Red Sammy is Baltimore singer/songwriter, Adam Trice. The band name is a reference to Flannery O’Connor’s short story, “A Good Man is Hard to Find,” (1955). The style of music embraces the beauty in imperfection: life, work, hard work, disappointment, love and loss are all themes entwined in his songs.

Red Sammy collaborates with poet and University of Baltimore professor, Steve Matanle, on their latest album, These Poems With Kerosene. Greed, dependence, lust, acceptance, the false hope of perfection are all encounters on this album. These Poems With Kerosene blends the simplicity of song with poetic sensibilities. We encounter various characters who all share a similar miserable and heartbreaking circumstance in life. They frequent the same places: package goods stores, lonesome bars, street corners. Some characters sound frustrated and angry while others are indifferent to their own bleak situation. The story within this dialogue, however, is left to the listener for interpretation.

Red Sammy appears in various musical arrangements including solo, duo, and full-piece band performances. Baltimore area musicians that perform and/or have performed in Red Sammy include: Katie Feild (bass guitar, concertina, vocals), Josh Weiss (pedal steel, electric guitar, banjo), Nick Sjostrom (drums and percussion), Eric Friedman (keyboards, harmonica), Theron Melchior (bass, musical saw), William Harder (harmonica), Julia Oat-Judge (cello), John “Chesapeake” Decker (resonator guitar), Greg Humphreys (bass, electric guitar, mandolin), and Tony Calato (drums).

Red Sammy has released four album’s (Self-titled release, 2007; Dog Hang Low, 2009; A Cheaper Kind of Love Song, 2011; These Poems With Kerosene, 2013) as well as one book of poetry with accompanying soundtrack (In Places with Bad Lighting, 2010).

Past performances, radio interviews, and national spotlight shows include: WYPR-FM (Baltimore, MD); WRYR-FM (Annapolis, MD), Opening act for Mike Watt and the Missingmen; Ottobar Show w/ Mark Kozelek of Red House Painters; Metro Gallery (Baltimore, MD), Ottobar show w/ The Teeth, Caleb Stine, and Lawnchair (Baltimore, MD); Denver Underground Music Festival (Denver, Colorado); WNCW-FM (Spindale, NC); WDVX-FM Blue Plate Special (Knoxville, TN); 98.1-FM The River (Asheville, NC); CIUT-FM (Toronto, ON); CHRW-FM (London, ON); The Fire (Philadelphia, PA); The Annex (Brooklyn, NY); Goodbye Blue Monday (Brooklyn, NY); G-Spot show with Deer Tick and Phosphorescent (Baltimore, MD); The Hexagon (Baltimore, MD); 8X10 Club (Baltimore, MD); Lo-Fi Social Club (Baltimore, MD); The Octoraro Hotel (Oxford, PA); Mum’s in Federal Hill (Baltimore, MD); Theatre Project (Baltimore, MD); Talking Head Club (Baltimore, MD); DC9 (Washington, DC); Iota Club (Arlington, VA); Flat Rock Wine Shoppe (Flat Rock, NC); College Perk (College Park, MD); Shattered Wig Night 14K Cabaret (Baltimore, MD); The Depot (Baltimore, MD); Frazier’s (Hampden, MD); Night of 1000 Dylans (Baltimore, MD); The Current Art Gallery (Baltimore, MD); Hamilton Arts Collective (Baltimore, MD); Roots Cafe (Baltimore, MD); Creative Alliance (Baltimore, MD); Beacon Pub (Swannanoa, NC); Austin Grill (Silver Spring, MD); Sidebar (Baltimore, MD); Minas Art Gallery (Hampden, MD); Grog and Tankard (Washington, DC); Glass Mind Theatre (Baltimore, MD); WUVT-FM (Blacksburg, VA); El Rancho Grande (Hampden, MD); Baltimore Hostel (Baltimore, MD); The Masoleum (Houston, TX); The Hornet (Denver, Colorado); Load of Fun (Baltimore, MD); Mobtown Studios Micro-show (Baltimore, MD); New Deal Cafe (Greenbelt, MD); Umbrella Radio (Hampden, MD); Baltimore Book Festival; Run for Your Lives, Zombie 5K Run and Festival; HonFest (Baltimore, MD), Durty Nelly’s (Charlottesville, VA); Baine’s Books (Appomattox, VA); MudHouse (Crozet, VA); The Coffee Pot (Roanoke, VA); The Streets of Baltimore (Songs of Our City); WBNY-FM (Buffalo, NY); Freddy’s (Brooklyn, NYC); Velvet Lounge (Washington, DC); and many more.